Skip to content

Children’s School Lives Study: Report 7

Children’s School Lives Study: Report 7

Find out more

Junior Cycle Profile of Achievement

The evidence of learning gathered in the L2LP portfolio will be presented for the JCPA. The learning recognised in the JCPA will be broadly be aligned with Level 2 of the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ). The JCPA will be issued by the school. Two curriculum components will feature in certification. They are the Priority Learning Units (PLUs) outlined earlier in these guidelines, and short courses. Apart from the requirements related to PLUs, schools and students will also include evidence of learning in two short courses.

The fact that requirements for the JCPA focus on PLUs and Level 2 short courses does not mean that learners are completely confined to learning at Level 2. Where it meets the needs and abilities of the learner involved, their school programme can also include curriculum components at other levels. For example, the student could take a subject or short course at Level 3 and have their achievements at this level recognised as part of their JCPA also.

Successfully added to the clipboard.