NCCA uses cookies so that you have the best possible browsing experience on our website. If you agree that we can store and use cookies click 'Accept & Close'.Manage Cookies


The Curriculum Framework for Social, Personal and Health Education was developed by NCCA in consultation with teachers, learners, parents, management bodies and others. Discussions on how best to introduce it for all schools are ongoing. In the meantime, it is available here for schools who wish to avail of it.

The framework builds on students’ prior learning in primary and junior cycle SPHE.  The aim of senior cycle SPHE is to support learners in making choices for health and wellbeing now and in the future. The framework supports the recently launched Action Plan on Bullying through the exploration of different types of bullying and strategies for dealing with abusive behaviour.

The curriculum framework for SPHE in senior cycle is an enabling curriculum.  The framework is built around five areas of learning.  These areas of learning focus on what is important for learners in senior cycle to know, understand and be able to do in order to make and maintain healthy lifestyle decisions. The five areas of learning are:

  • Mental health
  • Gender studies
  • Substance use
  • Relationships and sexuality education
  • Physical activity and nutrition

The SPHE Curriculum Framework can be viewed here.