Skip to content

Consultation on the Primary Curriculum now open

Consultation on the Primary Curriculum now open

View Info


Social, Environmental and Scientific Education (SESE) consists of three subjects: Science, Geography and History. SESE enables children to explore, investigate and develop an understanding of local and wider environments.

History is for all children from junior infants to sixth class. The curriculum supports children to develop basic skills as an historian through a knowledge and understanding of people, events and developments in the past.

The curriculum is presented in two sections:

  • Skills
  • Content:
  • Myself and my family
  • Story
  • Early people and ancient stories
  • Life, society, work and culture in the past
  • Eras of change and conflict
  • Politics, conflict and society
  • Continuity and change over time.

The current curriculum was introduced as part of the Primary School Curriculum (1999).