Early Childhood

Early childhood refers to the period from birth to six years while primary education caters for the period from six to 12 years, although in reality most five-year-olds and about half of the country's four-year-olds attend primary school.

Aistear is the curriculum framework for children from birth to six years. The Framework helps children grow and develop as confident and competent learners through fun, interesting and challenging experiences.

Themes in Aistear

The framework describes children’s learning and development using the following four themes.


Aistear: Framework Assessment Guidelines Aistear Toolkit

Related Documents

Parents Documents
Early Childhood Primary Junior Cycle Senior Cycle